top of page
  • Writer's pictureTatiana Zelentsova

My classroom


How can I describe my classroom?


I see my main role in the classroom as not somebody, who just transfers knowledge to her students, but as a person who inspires others to learn a new language. I want my students to remember that knowing a language is not just about grammar and their ability to build sentences, but about understanding the culture and history of people speaking it. It's like discovering a whole new world where you will learn something new about yourself too.


What is happening in my classroom right now? I brought an English pudding for my students because we are now studying Great Britain and its traditions and I wanted my students to try one of traditional dishes.

I want to create a relaxed and friendly environment in the class, which will make their studies less stressful and more enjoyable. I try to give my students more freedom and let them decide if they want to sit at the desk or with a group.

In my opinion, there are 3 things ( there's more, of course) every teacher should know about their students:

  1. Their background. This will give the teacher a clear idea about students' experiences, skills and aims.

  2. Their motivation. Ideally, I would like all my students to be self-motivated, motivation is one of the most powerful tools in teacher's hands!

  3. Their strengths and weaknesses. Knowing their strengths will assist the teacher to help build students' confidence and encourage them, when knowing weaknesses will help find ways to support them and help do better in class.




10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page