top of page
  • Writer's pictureTatiana Zelentsova

Teaching Reflections - Lesson 1


Teaching Reflections - Lesson 1


Topic - Speaking about likes and dislikes


Today I had my first teaching lesson. It was my first time teaching a group of ESL students online. It was also my first time using the Big Blue Button platform and, to be honest, I felt really worried about using it. I kept thinking “I wish I was teaching in person. Where is that button again that starts a poll?” Julie, my class instructor, was very supportive and was offering her help when I needed it.

I had my lesson plan printed out, and it was a good idea to have it beside me. I wish it had more details though, which I’ll need to remember for future.

My class teacher said that she really liked my first lesson. She said that, although I was feeling nervous, I was able to have a good handle of the classroom and interact with the students in a friendly manner.

At some point, when the students were in the breakout rooms, I wasn’t sure if I was doing a good job correcting their mistakes. I wasn’t sure if I needed to correct their pronunciation and grammar or just grammar. The class teacher suggested mostly focusing on heavier grammar, rather than pronunciation.

The most important reflection after my first lesson is that things look “more simple” on paper but when it comes to real life, things can go different ways and you need to be well prepared for it. So - more attention to detail in my lesson plans!


Please find the link to the lesson plan here



4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page