top of page
  • Writer's pictureTatiana Zelentsova

Teaching Reflections - Lesson 6


Lesson 6 - Teaching Reflections


Today I was teaching my sixth lesson and the lesson's topic was Job Advertisements.

I started the lesson by showing the students a video. It was about a woman feeling stressed every morning because she had to drive her kids to school. The next thing in the video was that the woman saw a job ad and became a bus driver. So, she was still doing the same thing, but now she was getting paid for it. When I asked the students how the woman was feeling when she was driving her kids to school herself, my students said, "Happy". I didn't expect that answer. I wasn't sure how to say that it was incorrect and that the woman was not feeling happy. Luckily for me, one of the students wanted to share her opinion about the video, and we had a chance to talk about her actions, not feelings. I've learned one thing - I need to be prepared for unexpected answers, even if they seem obvious to me. Do not assume that everybody will answer what you think they'll answer, especially when talking about feelings. When planning a lesson - think "what if…"

Another learning from this lesson is that most of the time, I don't have to turn off the tools function at all. I like that idea that my class instructor shared with me. Leaving this option open for your students gives more opportunities for interactions. In this case, students will be able to underline a word or sentence when asking a question.

One of the things that went well today was the discussion in small groups about the kinds of jobs students will be looking for and their preferences. It turned out that none of the students wanted to work on the weekends. I noticed that when listening to their conversations, we had a good discussion about why they don't like working on the weekends (family). I felt it was something they enjoyed discussing.


Please find the link to the lesson here



1 view0 comments

コメント


bottom of page