top of page
  • Writer's pictureTatiana Zelentsova

Teaching Reflections - Lesson 5


Lesson 5 - Teaching Reflections


Lesson topic - Job Qualifications

Today I was teaching my fifth lesson. The topic of the class was Job Qualifications, and the length of the lesson was 1,5 hours.

At the beginning of the lesson, I told my students that the lesson was being recorded and asked them if they wanted to keep their cameras off. Most of them turned off their cameras, which made me a little worried as I realized that I would need to find new ways to do comprehension checks. But it was an excellent learning point. And what I have learned is that your students could be your help in any unforeseen situations. I said: “Ok, I see a lot of you turned off your cameras now. Let me think how I can know if somebody wants to raise their hand”. One of the students reminded (and showed) me that function.

One thing I enjoyed about our lesson today was students’ involvement. I started the class with a poll questioning students if they have a job or planning to apply for one in the future. More than 80% answered yes, which meant that the topic was very relevant, and most students stayed active during the class.


I used Quizlet to play a match game with the students during the lesson. I like that they offer different ways to practice new vocabulary, and you can assign it for homework as well.


Also, I added more scaffolding exercises into the lesson and noticed that the students were more confident using the new vocabulary when doing free practice.


Please find the lesson plan here



1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page