top of page
  • Writer's pictureTatiana Zelentsova

Teaching Reflections - Lesson 4


Lesson 4 - Teaching Reflections


Today I was teaching a lesson on comparatives and superlatives. Tatiana, my program instructor, was observing my teaching.

My previous lesson on possessive adjectives was planned based on deductive approach. This time I decided to take the inductive approach when planning the lesson.

Here are the comments from my class teacher and my program instructor:


Strengths:

  1. Nice presentation and slides

  2. Good pace

  3. I used friendly tone of voice

  4. Good interaction with all students

  5. I called students by their names.

  6. I was always checking if students were following me.

  7. I was using pictures of people of different professions in my slide, which was good as students will be discussing different professions next week.


Areas for improvement:

  1. When teaching grammar, sometimes it’s easier for students to understand if you explain the form first. It was ok to introduce the meaning first, but I should have at least mentioned that in order to form the comparative form, we need to add the suffix -er. And only after the students are familiar with the form, give them exercises to practice.

  2. In terms of exercise, it would be more beneficial to give them a short story instead of “fill in the blanks” exercise. The context would make this activity more meaningful and it would look like a real life practice. It would also give the students a little break from perceiving new information.

  3. The lesson had a lot of grammar and spelling rules in it. Might be a good idea to split it into 2 or 3 lessons and make sure that scaffolding is in order.

  4. For longer lessons, it’s nice to offer students to do some moving and stretching as it helps them to stay focused.


Please find the link to the lesson here

2 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page